Here I am at the moment of decision. I’ve just come out from a one week hack for a mobile SMS app here using blackberry webworks.

Learnt a whole lot within one week of developing that app. Memory issues, device view <> simulator view, and a very good number of phone reboots not just from updating the app after each test but device crashing due to out of memory operations.

So today, I was passing by a friend and noticed he was getting LWUIT configured on computer. Now, I’ve been looking to do something more fun than just a Blackberry app, so I asked why he was going with LWUIT instead of the more recent Codename One. His answer was quite uncertain and I would keep from saying the real reason he whispered.

But then I said to myself, I’m going to try out Codename One and see how this goes. Remember I leave in the most populous African country and the mobile device market is dominated by devices with support for Java, as opposed to just blackberry, iOS, or Android (these guys are still picking up and have a long road to walk).

 

Comments
  1. Greetings! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying
    to find a theme or plugin that might be able
    to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

Leave a Reply

